Power Searching with Google

Dan Russell has a very cool title: Senior Research Scientist, Google Inc.

He’s also a clear-spoken and affable guide to the ins and outs of really searching with Google.

If you want to sharpen your Google-searching skills there’s a short, free course going on right now over here: http://www.powersearchingwithgoogle.com/course.

I admit, I use Google enough that I didn’t learn too much from the first two classes.  But I did learn a few tings and found the course design well done (which has given me some ideas for future online learning I may do with students and teachers).

The third class gets into more advanced stuff and I did learn more there.  I happily got an A on my midtem this morning.

Apparently if you take the midterm and final you will get a certificate emailed to you so you can show off your new found skills.

Here’s a news article from Mashable on the course: http://mashable.com/2012/07/09/google-search-classes/

Go for it!  And share the course with other students and educators you think may benefit.

Thanks,

Jim Randolph

Partee Elementary

Snellville, GA

About Library_Jim

School librarian, dad, hubby, geek.

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Best practice, Ideas, Information Literacy, Web 2.0, Webinars and Virtual Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

