2011 ALA Youth Media Awards

While much of Georgia was at a standstill today due to winter weather, the American Library Association was honoring the most distinguished books and media for children and teens in beautiful San Diego, California.  As the winter weather continued to fall outside my window, I sat on my couch and watched the 2011 Youth Media Awards via the live webcast.  Other librarians followed the event via the Twitter feed. These annual awards are selected by committees comprised of librarians and other experts in the field.  The official list can be viewed here.

Which of your favorite books and media took home awards?  Which of your favorites were left off the list?  Post your thoughts in the comments.

John Newbery Medal

“Moon over Manifest,” written by Clare Vanderpool

Newbery Honor: “Turtle in Paradise,” by Jennifer L. Holm; “Heart of a Samurai,” written by Margi Preus; “Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night,” written by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen; and “One Crazy Summer,” by Rita Williams-Garcia.

Randolph Caldecott Medal

“A Sick Day for Amos McGee,” illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Caldecott Honor Books: “Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill; and “Interrupting Chicken,” written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein.

Michael L. Printz Award

“Ship Breaker,” written by Paolo Bacigalupi

Printz Honor Books: “Stolen,” by Lucy Christopher; “Please Ignore Vera Dietz,” by A.S. King; “Revolver,” by Marcus Sedgwick; and “Nothing,” by Janne Teller.

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award

“One Crazy Summer,” written by Rita Williams-Garcia

King Author Honor Books: “Lockdown,” by Walter Dean Myers; “Ninth Ward,” by Jewell Parker Rhodes; and “Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty,” written by G. Neri, illustrated by Randy DuBurke.

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award

“Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave,” illustrated by Bryan Collier

King Illustrator Honor Book: “Jimi Sounds Like a Rainbow: A Story of the Young Jimi Hendrix,” illustrated by Javaka Steptoe, written by Gary Golio.

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (Author) Award

“Zora and Me,” written by Victoria Bond and T. R. Simon

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (Illustrator) Award

“Seeds of Change,” illustrated by Sonia Lynn Sadler, written by Jen Cullerton Johnson

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Practitioner Award for Lifetime Achievement

Dr. Henrietta Mays Smith

Schneider Family Book Award

“The Pirate of Kindergarten,” written by George Ella Lyon, illustrated by Lynne Avril

“After Ever After,” written by Jordan Sonnenblick

“Five Flavors of Dumb,” written by Antony John

Alex Awards

“The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel,” by Alden Bell

“The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel,” by Aimee Bender

“The House of Tomorrow,” by Peter Bognanni,

“Room: A Novel,” by Emma Donoghue,

“The Vanishing of Katharina Linden: A Novel,” by Helen Grant

“The Radleys,” by Matt Haig

“The Lock Artist,” by Steve Hamilton

“Girl in Translation,” by Jean Kwok

“Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard,” by Liz Murray

“The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To,” by DC Pierson

Andrew Carnegie Medal

“The Curious Garden

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Tomie dePaola, author and illustrator of over 200 books

Margaret A. Edwards Award

Sir Terry Pratchett is the 2011 Edwards Award winner.

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

Peter Sís will deliver the 2012 lecture.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

“A Time of Miracles”by Anne-Laure Bondoux, translated by Y. Maudet

Batchelder Honor Books: “Departure Time,” written by Truus Matti and translated by Nancy Forest-Flier; and “Nothing,” written by Janne Teller and translated by Martin Aitken.

Odyssey Award

“The True Meaning of Smekday,” produced by Listening LibraryThe book is written by Adam Rex and narrated by Bahni Turpin.

Odyssey Honor Recordings: “Alchemy and Meggy Swann,” produced by Listening Library, written by Karen Cushman and narrated by Katherine Kellgren; “The Knife of Never Letting Go,” produced by Candlewick on Brilliance Audio, written by Patrick Ness and narrated by Nick Podehl; “Revolution,” produced by Listening Library, written by Jennifer Donnelly and narrated by Emily Janice Card and Emma Bering; and “will grayson, will grayson,” produced by Brilliance Audio, written by John Green and David Levithan, and narrated by MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl.

Pura Belpré (Author) Award

“The Dreamer,” written by Pam Muñoz Ryan

BelpréAuthor Honor Books: “¡Olé! Flamenco,” written and illustrated by George Ancona ; “The Firefly Letters: A Suffragette’s Journey to Cuba,” written by Margarita Engle ; and “90 Miles to Havana,” written by Enrique Flores-Galbis

Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award

“Grandma’s Gift,” illustrated and written by Eric Velasquez

BelpréIllustrator Honor Books for illustration: “Fiesta Babies,” illustrated by Amy Córdova, written by Carmen Tafolla; “Me, Frida,” illustrated by David Diaz, written by Amy Novesky; “Dear Primo: A Letter to My Cousin,” illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh

Robert F. Sibert Medal

“Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot,” written by Sy Montgomery

Sibert Honor Books: “Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring,” written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan, illustrated by Brian Floca; “Lafayette and the American Revolution,” written by Russell Freedman

Stonewall Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award

“Almost Perfect,” written by Brian Katcher

Honor books: “will grayson, will grayson,” written by John Green and David Levitha; “Love Drugged,” written by James Klise; “Freaks and Revelations,” written by Davida Willis Hurwin; and “The Boy in the Dress,” written by David Walliams, illustrated by Quentin Blake

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

“Bink and Gollie,” written by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee and illustrated by Tony Fucile

Geisel Honor Books: “Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same!” written and illustrated by Grace Lin; and “We Are in a Book!” written and illustrated by Mo Willems

William C. Morris Award

“The Freak Observer,” written by Blythe Woolston

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

“Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing,” written by Ann Angel

Posted By:

Andy Plemmons

School Librarian

David C. Barrow Elementary

Athens, GA





About plemmonsa

School librarian, connected educator,Google Certified Teacher, NSBA 20 to Watch, speaker. Expecting the miraculous every day! http://about.me/andy.plemmons

Posted on January 10, 2011, in ALA News, Conferences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was very excited to see Bink and Gollie recognized with the Geisel award. I adore Kate DiCamillo, and this book is so much fun to read. I missed see Deborah Wiles for Countdown and Kathi Appelt for Keeper on the Newbery list.

  2. Thrilled to death that Five Flavors of Dumb, Almost Perfect, and Freaks & Revelations all received recognition. Loved all three of them. Interesting that “Nothing” by Jane Teller was a Printz Honor book. I didn’t read it, mainly because it had some pretty horrid reviews. Always fun to see the winners!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: