Student Voice, Student Choice: Students as part of the budgeting process

This school year our district was rezoned.  This resulted in over 200 kids leaving our school of only 400 students and about 300 new students arriving.  Before the transition, there were many discussions that were held between teachers and administrators about how to help our new students and families feel welcome at our school.  However, there were just some things that we couldn’t plan for that came to the surface at the beginning of the year.

One of the things that surfaced in the media center was a population of students, particularly students in 3rd-5th grades, who were coming to the media center and not finding anything that interested them.  I saw it immediately.  A student walked in, browsed the shelf, didn’t welcome help or seem interested in my suggestions, and left empty handed.  My wheels began turning on what I could do to hook these students.  After some conversation with teachers, I learned that this group of students were students in upper grades reading well below their grade level.  My immediate “quick-fix” idea was just to order high interest/low level books, but I really didn’t feel like that was enough to get them excited about coming to the media center and interacting with me on a regular basis.  I really wanted them to feel at home in the media center and become active participants in our space.

So….I wrote a grant to our district’s Foundation for Excellence and was awarded $1,000 for a project that I called Student Voice, Student Choice.  I also chose to add a portion of book fair funds to this pool of money.  Teachers identified students in grades 3-5 that were unmotivated to read and/or were reading below grade level.  Test scores, lexiles, running records, and observations were used to identify students.  In all, 45 students were identified.  I met with these students by grade level during lunch and talked with them about their interests.  They named things such as sports, comics, wrestling, and funny books.  I also used this time to overview the project.  Each student was given a budget of $45 to order books for the media center.  Because these students were reading below level, I knew I wanted hi-lo books, so I focused on one company, Capstone Press.  I emailed my local representative, Jim Boon, and shared the list of student interests with him.  He agreed to bring in numerous samples of books for the students to look at.

At our second meeting, Jim arrived and filled racks with books separated by fiction and nonfiction.  Before the book club students even arrived, other students were stopping to talk with him about the books on the racks and I started making mental and written notes.  With the grant students, he talked about the differences in fiction and nonfiction and let them come up and pull books to sit and read.  Students wrote down their top choices and circled them in a catalog.  Jim was a huge help in this process.  He made the experience fun, meaningful, and personal for both me and the students.

At our third meeting, students looked through Capstone catalogs that Jim provided to see if there were any other books that interested them more than the ones that he showed them.  They began adding up their totals.  Most students were able to order 2 books, but many used their money to pool with other students and order an additional title together.

Since that third meeting, the students from the project have been coming to the media center to check out other books and to talk with me about when they are going to get to come back to the media center for our club.  They also ask me in the halls as we pass.  I see an excitement in them that I didn’t see at the beginning of the year when they would come to the library and leave empty handed.

Now, the books have arrived after only 10 days of waiting!  In the next few weeks, students will read the books, write reviews, and record podcasts to share with the rest of the school.  Then, the books will become a part of the collection for everyone to read.  My hunch is that these books will stay checked out most of the time because they will be “marketed” by students to students.  I can’t wait to see what happens.

A few things I’ve learned from letting students be a part of the budgeting process:

  • Student voice allows you to fill needs in your collection that you may never see on your own
  • Student voice still fills areas of your collection that you would have worked on anyway.  In fact, many of their choices updated sections of the collection that I keep putting off because of other priorities.
  • Their voice creates a connection to the books and takes away part of the need to “sell” the books to the students
  • Students are critical about what they choose and really work to spend their money wisely
  • Students choose books that will most likely be popular with many other students besides themselves
  • Collaborating with students and sales representatives helps create better matches for students and their reading interests and levels.

I’m hopeful that we will have some type of budgets to work with in the future, and I believe that I will strongly consider having students be a part of my budgeting process, reserving a percentage of the budget for a cross-section of students to have a voice in media center purchases.  Their voice is important and needs to be heard and honored.

Andy Plemmons

School Librarian

David C. Barrow Elementary

Athens, GA

http://barrowmediacenter.wordpress.com

http://www.clarke.k12.ga.us/webpages/aplemmons

About plemmonsa

School librarian, connected educator,Google Certified Teacher, NSBA 20 to Watch, speaker. Expecting the miraculous every day! http://about.me/andy.plemmons

Posted on March 25, 2010, in Best practice, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a great idea. I love involving the kids this way and I know this experience will have been a lesson in media literacy without them even realizing it. I agree Jim Boon is so very helpful. Thanks for sharing your success.

    • Juliana, there were so many literacy lessons woven into this project, even more than I had imagined. There were multiple levels and reading and plenty of math skills. I was amazed by the critical thinking that took place in deciding what to purchase. There was even a bit of persuasion woven in as some students tried to convince others to let them have some extra money to make an additional purchase.

  2. This post made our day here at the Capstone home offices in Minnesota. What a great idea for engaging students with the library. And the photos–seeing kids swarm the book racks! This is why we love our jobs! Thanks for sharing this with us.

    • Amy, thanks so much for helping to spread the word about this project. I, too, was in awe when I saw the kids swarming around the racks. I think they could have looked at those books all day. Yesterday, they got their books in their hands and started reading. That same excitement was back and they swarmed around the stacks of books searching for the ones they ordered. Then, they tucked themselves away in areas of the library to read. What fun!

  1. Pingback: Budgeting « Books@Baccon

  2. Pingback: Participatory Librarianship in Action: Andy Plemmons, Barrow Elementary Media Center « The Unquiet Librarian

Leave a Reply

