March Madness!

I’m a librarian that likes sports! As a result, I’ve combined books and sports in our latest incarnation of the bulletin board and displays in the media center.  March Madness (college basketball’s championship tournament) has invaded the media center. It’s been a lot of fun, mostly because I’m a big dork. 😉

Though I originally hearkened back to my opaque projector days, I thought better of it and used a LCD projector to draw the brackets. I can’t tell you how many people I explained this to while drawing the brackets out in the hallway! The library staff determined the “sweet sixteen” books that made the bracket. I chose fonts that fit each book (ok, mostly fit), ranked the books 1-16, printed out the titles, and taped them on the board.  The students are voting on which books move onto the next round.

It’s silly and fun and I’m sure not a new idea, but I thought I’d throw it out there.  I’m always looking for fun, unexpected ways to decorate a bulletin board or create displays, so please share yours too!

Holly Frilot, Collins Hill High School

www.chhsmediacenter.com

justshelveit.wordpress.com

Posted on March 10, 2010, in Ideas, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

