AASL-SIGMS Virtual Learning Community Presents “Book Trailers: Seen Any Good Books Lately?” Tonight!

Second Life: AASL-SIGMS Virtual Learning Community
Feb 8: 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT
Guest facilitator: Bernajean Porter
Book Trailers: Seen Any Good Books Lately?

Book trailers are NOT book reports. Similar to movie trailers, video book trailers are short, minute and a half to two-minute videos that introduce the basic storyline in ways that arouse your audience interest to read THAT book. Engage students in the artful video advertisement or PSA of a book with techniques and creative decisions being made by the director that tells enough to interest but not to spoil the plot. Merging the technology of books with digital tools is an engaging adventure for students – explore resources, ideas, tools, and processes for starting your own book club theater! Join us on Monday, February 8th, 8:00 PM ET/5pm PT @ Atlantis Underwater Paideia Colluseum. SLURL Location: [[@exchweb/bin/redir.asp?URL=http://slurl.com/secondlife/Eduisland%206/61/156/7|http://slurl.com/secondlife/Eduisland%206/61/156/7]]

Bernajean Porter is a nationally-recognized expert in educational technology. She is a well-respected consultant who specializes in curriculum, facilitation, and consensus building. For more information, see her DigiTales website at [[@exchweb/bin/redir.asp?URL=http://www.digitales.us/about/about_bernajean.php|http://www.digitales.us/about/about_bernajean.php]].

If you are new to Second Life, set up an account to join us:
1. Go to the Second Life website at http://secondlifegrid.net/programs/education several days in advance to set up your free basic account.
2. Verify that your computer and connectivity meets the systems requirements athttp://secondlife.com/support/sysreqs.php.
3. Click on the orange “Get Started!” button. Go through the subsequent screens to create your avatar account.
4. Download and install the Second Life viewer software at http://secondlife.com/support/downloads.php.
5. Open the software and log into Second Life using your avatar first name, last name, and password. Watch your avatar “be born”. Complete the orientation activities to learn about how to communicate, move, search, and edit your appearance.
6. When finished, search “Places” for locations such as Chicago Public Schools, ISTE, or the American Library Association. Teleport to a favorite location, explore, and become acquainted with Second Life. (When searching, make sure the “search mature places” square is checked.)
7. Fifteen minutes prior to scheduled meetings, log on and IM Elaine Tulip for a teleport to the meeting location or use provided SLURL.

Advertisements

About The Unquiet Librarian

I'm a librarian and writing teacher who loves learning, literacy, stories, learning, dogs, poetry, fabulous shoes, and good lip gloss; I'm also a 2011 Library Journal Mover and Shaker.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Professional Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: