E-Readers in the Media Center?

Last month Carolyn Foote had a post about trying to figure out which ebook reader would become the standard so she could start getting them for her high school students.

I ask you, is there a need and/or demand for these yet in a school library setting?  Any of you getting requests for these devices?

E-books are still a very slim slice of the publishing pie and I’ve yet to meet a teenager with one.  Also–and I’m confessing my ignorance here–I’m just not even sure how they would exactly work in a school library setting.  I mean, these things aren’t cheap and I’m not sure what the advantage is to the school library.

I can see the advantage for personal use, sure.  Especially a bookworm with a big reading appetite and a small apartment.  Or someone who both reads and travels a lot.

But school libraries?  Really?

Help me out here.  Shoot me your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks,

Jim Randolph

Posted on January 12, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Jim,

    I actually agree–though we might buy one or two for our teachers/students to “experience” the e-book device, it’s not practicable at this point. But I think some day it might be, so that is partly my interest. And with so many students with iPhones at my campus, of course, the free Kindle software may be their item of choice.

    Since I”ve written that, of course the Ipad has come out as well.

    Elaine, I’m fairly sure that the virtual Gale books can’t run on the Sony, since it uses proprietary software.

    We’ve decided for now to go with the Follett e-books which students can use over the internet or download to their own computer at home, because it works within Destiny, our library software. And because the books are the “real books” teachers can also use them via their lcd projectors in their rooms, so I am focusing on purchasing quite a few ebooks with visuals.

  2. Those sound like useful applications, thanks!

  3. Touching on Elaine’s mention of reference books…
    I worked at a one-to-one laptop school where I purchased Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks for the reference collection. There was no limit to the number of students who could access the eBook. The cost was about the same for the equivalent print reference, but I figured many more students would use it because A) it was online and B) it would be available to more than one person at a time. Of course, a purchase like this requires the follow-up promotion and instruction with faculty and students.

    • Margaret,

      Thanks for the lead. I have emailed GALE to find out if they offer the reference books in a format that the Sony Touches can read.

      I’ll post back when I hear from them.

      Oh btw, we got the grant! I will be purchasing 90 Touches in the next few weeks!

  4. We are applying for a grant to add Sony Touchs to our library and some of the classrooms. The initial use will be to load the classics and newer titles that are used for literature circles.

    In the future, I would like to be able to load reference books on the Readers. I normally only have one copy of print materials, and this would allow more than one student to access the same resource.

Leave a Reply

