Random Musings on summer reading from the Peach Book Committee

When summertime rolls around, a school librarian’s, and Peach Award Committee member’s, mind turns to reading.  Lots and lots of reading.  Now about half of us on the committee are public librarians, and I don’t know how those wonderful people ever get enough time to read all they want.  Lots of late nights and wrinkled laundry?  No, I have those, and what’s MY excuse?  I guess the score evens out, though, when a Peach person knows she needs to read several relatively new titles for possible addition to the Consideration Database.  It’s strange to think about the current suggestions going on a list that will become the nominees for the 2010-2011 school year.  In fact, it’s kind of freaky to even start using a second digit at the end of 2000-anything.

 Anyway, so something like ten beautiful weeks stretch out before me like a canvas of good intentions at the end of May.  Well, I tell myself, now’s time for a little reading reward—some fun grown-up reading.  Already a fan of the Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire series by Charlaine Harris, I was turned on to the Kim Harrison Hollows series that begins with Dead Witch Walking.  Seven of those fell before me in fairly rapid succession while I felt intermittently guilty that I wasn’t reading (or re-reading) the four 2009-2010 Peach Nominees that I have to make competition questions for yet.  I’m also reading Twilight aloud with my ten-year-old girl.  Much like with information about sex, I figure she’s better off learning about it through me.  I’m doing The Hunger Games with my twelve-year-old son.  It’s on this year’s list, and I can’t praise it highly enough.  It rocks and rolls and bakes banana bread.  It’s that good.  The sequel comes out this fall, and I hear there are some Advance Reading Copies making the rounds—It’s called Catching Fire, and I would bake banana bread myself for anyone if I could get my hands on a copy.  I only knew Suzanne Collins from the Gregor the Overlander series, and while that had some merits, no baked goods were produced for me from those.

 Anyway, now it’s past the 4th of July.  Summer break is way more than half over, somehow. I’m done with my questions, sort of; and I have a meager slice of summer left to try to read some new good stuff off the cart of books at my media center that arrived right as school was ending.  Oh, and there’s still time to lose ten pounds, right?

Suzanne Gordon

Posted on July 15, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

