ALA Literary Awards Announced

Check here to see if your choices were awarded the distinguished honor of an American Library Association literary award.

Highlights include:

Newbery Medal: Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book

“THE GRAVEYARD BOOK,” said fourteen loud voices, and I thought, I may be still  asleep right now, but they probably don’t do this, probably don’t call people and sound so amazingly excited, for Honors books…. (Gaiman’s reaction to the news)

Caldecott Medal: Beth Krommes’ The House in the Night

Printz Award: Melina Marchetta’s Jellicoe Road

Coretta Scott King Book Award and Sibert Medal: Kadir Nelson’s We are the Ship: The Story of the Negro League Baseball


Posted on January 26, 2009, in Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: