May Links

It has been a crazed month.  My calendar poked me this morning and let me know that today is my GLMA posting day and I got nothing.  So I’m going to take the time-honored blogger escape hatch and share some of my favorite links from the past month.

The ALA has released their list of the most challenged books in 2011.  The thing that caught my eye under the Hunger Games entry was the “satanic/occult references.”  Huh?  I don’t remember those.

RIF has a funky new look (via Boing Boing). I like it.

Reading books can make you a better person.  We’re just sure of it. But it’s always nice to hear specifics.  How Homer P. Figg Made Me a Better Person.

The Nerdy Book Club (blog title envy!) has a great post on Top 5 Reasons to Let Kids Choose Their Own Books.

I know you’ve probably already seen these posters, but I just wanted to put them here just in case to share the awesome.

Congrats to Dr. Shaq.

And, finally, this was the month that saw the passing of a children’s lit. giant.  Or Wild Thing.  There were many words written, but Fuse #8 has the best collection of them.

Have a great last few days of school everyone!

Jim Randolph

Partee Elementary

Snellville, GA

About Jim Randolph

School librarian, dad, hubby, geek. www.teacherninja.blogspot.com

Posted on May 12, 2012, in Recommended Reading, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

